Over 230 years ago the congregation was founded cooperatively by the Lutheran and Reformed Churches. The original sanctuary was built from local fieldstone where the cemetery is now. The church became part of the Dutch Reformed denomination in 1816, and changed to Presbyterian in 1823.
In 1837, the present church building was erected to provide more space. Also that year the Rev. T. B. Condit was called as pastor and remained in that role for 44 years. One of the more colorful moments in our history happened when the Presbytery (the regional governing body) discovered that Rev. Condit had not been paid for his services in a long time. They ordered the church to deed him the manse which is adjacent to the church. A new manse was purchased by the church (the doctor’s home across the street), and many members subscribed to the purchase with the understanding that it could not be sold by the church without the approval of all who invested.
Early in this century a room was added to the back of the sanctuary for education space, and in 1959 the Fellowship Hall was built along side. In the 1990’s the congregation acted in faith by adding a wing above the Fellowship Hall with excellent space and facilities for education and other activities. Approximately 2010 a ramp was built under the leadership of Lawrence Earl to make the church handicap accessible.
The Stillwater Presbyterian Church is proud of its rich heritage and excited about its future.